Spreadsheeting it out

Although I do love the mobility of Pages and Numbers, especially the cloud sync and having the documents up to date on all my computers–I find Google Docs is actually a very powerful alternative. Let me give a quick example of how I used a spreadsheet in Google Docs to keep track of data that I would constantly need to refer to for my thesis.

I decided to create a spreadsheet in Google Docs to keep track of all these important dates, numbers, events, people, etc., both before and after my target time period (1904-1922). Here’s what it looks like:

numbersandtrends

I’ve frozen one row (the headings) and one column (the dates) so that when I scroll through I’ll always know what it is I’m looking at. The right most columns have a variety of information from local events and textbooks, to important regional events and important leaders and officials.

Despite the initial time investment to get it going, once I had it set, I’ve found this kind of setup to be incredibly useful, and I constantly refer to it.

A little side note: I’ve also made sure to put where I am culling the information from below, under each relevant column. That way I can also be sure where exactly to refer back to.

Any tips and tricks to organizing all your data? Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “Spreadsheeting it out

Leave a Reply

